Travel | Passport to Paris – Palais de Versailles!

Welcome back everyone! I hope you had a great weekend! I’m nearly finished with my posts on Paris but I think this one will be my favourite!

Whilst in Paris, we travelled to Versailles for the day. Located 20km outside of the city, the Palace of Versailles was the principal royal palace for over a hundred years in France, until the French revolution in the late 1700s. It is now a world heritage site you can visit with beautiful gardens, an ornate palace and a Hamlet which was created for Marie Antoinette.

We were lucky enough to visit this beautiful estate and even luckier that it is included in the free entry for under 26 year old EU members! The only thing we paid for was the gardens which was 100% worth it! If you’re wanting to go I would highly recommend prebooking skip the line tickets if you can’t get the free entry as the queue is extremely long!

Here’s some photos from our day…

We strolled through the magnificent fountain gardens to the lake where they had rowing boats to hire. We rowed out to the middle and had a picnic on board, taking in the views of Versailles from afar. Afterwards, we walked to Marie Antoinette’s hamlet to see her home, before making our way back through the gardens to the Palace of Versailles.

It truly was a magnificent place to visit; so grand and ornate! We travelled back into Paris for the evening and walked from the Eiffel Tower to Montparnasse for dinner and a night time ascent of the tower! The end of the day called for a metro ride back to the hotel as we were exhausted!

I hope you enjoyed these photos of Versailles; have you been? I’d love to hear what you thought!

Katherine

Xoxo

3 thoughts on “Travel | Passport to Paris – Palais de Versailles!

  1. FAB-U-LOUS!!!! You had such fantastic weather…. we’ll be visiting in 5 weeks time and I hope the weather is ok… well… I’ll be glad it won’t rain 😀 (but I actually hope for a beautiful autumn day!!)

    Like

Leave a comment